Well, the good news is…

…I’ve walked about eight kilometres today.

The bad news is that it hasn’t helped all that much.

The thing about trying to get an editing business up and running is that even when you don’t have any clients sending you work, you still have to work at the business, because that’s what gets clients to send you work. Today, my plan was to start expanding my publicity, beyond this website, my Twitter account, my IPEd directory entry and various other bits and bobs online, by means of some good old-fashioned footwork. So I set out with my flyers and a reasonably sturdy pair of shoes, and hiked around to several of the sorts of places that used to let you put up ads for local small businesses to try my luck.

Only it turns out that libraries only let you put up flyers for events these days, and community centres only put up flyers for things that happen at the community centres, and if you can’t afford to have weatherproof ads made then other community noticeboards aren’t for you.

Oh, well, it was worth a look, I guess – and at least now I know not to bother with that again. And I did get some flyers up around the university, and dropped off batches of business cards to some former colleagues who are willing to send work my way, so the day wasn’t a complete waste. But what this means is that I’m going to have to think harder about how to do local advertising – word of mouth is not an efficient way to get enough clients to run a viable business, no matter what anyone says – and look for venues that aren’t currently obvious to me at all. H’m. Back to the drawing board, I guess…anyone got any ideas? Specifically, ideas that don’t rely on the internet?

In the meantime, I’m going to email another former colleague with an idea of my own, and then watch the Call the Midwife Christmas Special, because nothing says I have to spend all day doing stuff for the business when there are no clients in the offing, and besides, my feet hurt.

About kleditor

Editing services and academic writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

