Libraries, reading, and me in 2017

It’s a sad fact that over the past few years, partly due to my workload and health issues, but mostly due to laziness, I haven’t been reading as much as I used to – and certainly not as much as somebody who wants to work in the book industry should. I miss it, and I miss my ability to dive into a book and not surface for air until I hit the back cover, which I used to do on a regular basis at one point.

So I’ve made a plan to get it back, or at least to start reading more (I like plans). This year – work permitting – I aim to visit the library twice a week, and borrow one or two books on each visit. But more importantly, when I’m browsing the shelves, I have to pick up everything that catches my eye and at least look at it. No matter the genre, author or cover art, if it catches my eye I’ll pick it up, and if the blurb sounds good I’ll borrow it. I’ve tried this for a couple of weeks now, and already read a few things I never would have picked up if I were doing my usual genre- and author- focused searches.

I don’t expect to like everything I borrow – there have already been a couple of things that I was just okay with reading but not enthusiastic about following up – or even to finish everything I try (maybe I need to read The Fifth Season before tackling The Obelisk Gate…). But it’s a way to change my reading habits and expand my familiarity with recent publications, and re-establish my reading habits, and that’s enough to be going on with.

And of course, for books I really want but that aren’t on the shelves, there’s always holds. Though seriously, I’ve had one book on hold for five months now and it’s only just coming off the New Books shelves, so it can be a bit of a fraught option. There are reasons why my ultimate life goal is to earn enough money to be able to buy any book I want whenever I want it!

Anyway, that’s the library plan for 2017. I’ll let you know how it goes…

About kleditor

Editing services and academic writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

